RSS

Peach Slab Pie

07 Aug

peach-slab-pie-recipe-6

I love this time of the year when all kinds of fresh fruit is available.  One of my all time favorites is fresh peaches.   There is an orchard by our home that has the most amazing huge peaches and when the harvest starts, I stop by every several days for another box.  That is even before the canning starts.  I love peaches in every way possible but I think my favorite is just a big bowl of cold sliced peaches with maybe a little sugar.

I had a big bag of peaches today and wanted to do something good for Sunday dinner.  Dave is really having a hard time finding anything that tastes or smells good.  Chemo does a real number on smell and taste.  I love the smell of peach pie cooking so that was my choice   I love all kinds of desserts but pie is probably my least favorite.  I am just not a fan of all that crust.  This was good as I am trying to cut out sweets and I may be able to turn my back on pie.  Chocolate on the other hand–maybe not.

My mother in law is the queen of pie making and I have tried to learn from the best.  Today I changed things up a little and made a “Peach Slab Pie”.  It was easy and so pretty.  This is really a much easier way to serve pie than the traditional pie shape and would be good for a crowd.

I used my go to pie crust recipe from “Pioneer Woman”.  I just have not found one I like better.  I have posted this before, but for ease, I will post it again.

Pioneer Woman Pie Crust

Ingredients

  • ◾1-½ cup Crisco (vegetable Shortening)
  • ◾3 cups All-purpose Flour
  • ◾1 whole Egg
  • ◾5 Tablespoons Cold Water
  • ◾1 Tablespoon White Vinegar
  • ◾1 teaspoon Salt

Directions

In a large bowl, with a pastry cutter, gradually work the Crisco into the flour for about 3 or 4 minutes until it resembles a coarse meal. In a small bowl, beat an egg with a fork and then pour it into the flour/shortening mixture. Add 5 tablespoons of cold water, 1 tablespoon of white vinegar and 1 teaspoon of salt. Stir together gently until all of the ingredients are incorporated. Separate the dough into thirds. Form 3 evenly sized balls of dough and place each dough into a large Ziploc bag. Using a rolling pin, slightly flatten each ball of dough (about ½ inch thick) to make rolling easier later. Seal the bags and place them in the freezer until you need them. (If you will be using it immediately it’s still a good idea to put in the freezer for about 15 to 20 minutes to chill.) When you are ready to use the dough to make a crust, remove from the freezer and allow to thaw for 15 minutes. On a floured surface roll the dough, starting at the center and working your way out. (Sprinkle some flour over top of the dough if it’s a bit too moist.) If the dough is sticking to the countertop use a metal spatula and carefully scrape it up and flip it over and continue rolling until it’s about ½ inch larger in diameter than your pie pan. With a spatula, lift the dough carefully from the surface of the counter into the pie pan. Gently press the dough against the corner of the pan. Go around the pie pan pinching and tucking the dough to make a clean edge.

PEACH SLAB PIE

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 6 cups fresh sliced peaches
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 rectangular pieces of pie dough rolled out to approximately 11×14-inches*
  • 1 egg, beaten

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 400-degrees F. Position oven rack in bottom third of oven.
  2. In large bowl, whisk together brown sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, ginger and salt. Add peaches and lemon juice; toss to coat. Set aside.
  3. Fit one piece of pastry dough into an ungreased 9x13x1-inch sheet pan (quarter sheet pan). Allow access overhang. Do not trim. Pour peach filling into crust and spread evenly.
  4. Place remaining piece of dough on top.** Pinch edges of two crusts together to seal, tuck under any extra pastry crust, as needed. Use a knife to cut vents across top of pie crust.
  5. Brush crust with beaten egg. Optional: evenly sprinkle top with about a tablespoon of sugar.
  6. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until bubbly and golden brown. Remove from oven and set aside to cool completely before slicing (if you can wait that long!).
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2016 in Recipes, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment

 
The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Painted Apron

This WordPress.com site is about inspiration, creativity, painting & food!

Our Best Bites

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!

Chef in Training

A great place to find easy, delicious and family friendly recipes.

mommahill

Hope you enjoy my life as much as I do!!